Open Access Week 2020: Events on open access books

Amidst a year filled with turmoil and change, the yearly Open Access Week makes it return on October 19th. Its theme is ‘Open with Purpose: Taking Action to Build Structural Equity & Inclusion’. With just one week left until the start of Open Access Week 2020 we have pulled together a list of events on topics related to open access books, which are open to all, that may interest you.

The complete calendar of events can be accessed here: https://hcommons.org/groups/open-access-books-network/events/

The list below includes some events organised by the open access books community.

Monday

Open and Engaged Conference 2020: Inequities in Scholarly Communications – A one-day conference organised by the British Library. Including various sessions and talks such as ‘’Scaling Small: Enabling a More Diverse Ecosystem for Scholarly Book Publishing’’. More info.
Time: One day conference starting at: 4:45am EDT / 9:45am BST / 10:45am CEST

Wykłady związane z tematyką publikowania w otwartym dostępie, prawnymi aspektami Open Access – Biblioteka Jagiellońska (Jagiellonian Library of the Jagiellonian University) w ramach Tygodnia Otwartego Dostępu przygotuje otwarte webinary oraz serię krótkich filmów edukacyjnych, przybliżających ideę otwartego dostępu. More info.
Time: 5:30am EDT / 10:30am BST / 11:30am CEST

UCL Office for Open Science and Scholarship Launch Webinar – Join the Head of the Office for Open Science and Scholarship, Dr Paul Ayris, and a number of teams from across the university to celebrate the next steps in Open Science support at UCL. This webinar will tell you all you need to know about the new office, and what it can do to support you to embrace Open Science and Scholarship in your work. More info.
Time: 8am EDT / 1pm BST / 2pm CEST

Open Pedagogy, Equity & Inclusive Training – Please join the University of North Texas (UNT) Libraries for a virtual roundtable discussion of “Open Pedagogy, Equity, & Inclusive Teaching” in celebration of International Open Access Week. This roundtable discussion will feature faculty from both UNT and other institutions who are actively engaged in developing open pedagogical practices, using or creating Open Educational Resources (OER), and promoting Open Access principles to address questions of equity, diversity, and inclusion in their teaching and scholarship. More info.
Time: 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST

A Q&A with Open Book Publishers – Join the OBP publishing team and ask them your questions about any aspect of Open Access book publishing. Whether you want to know about the editorial process, how our books are typeset and produced, what our marketing tricks are or how we tackle metadata — come along and ask us! More info.
Time: 12pm EDT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST

Tuesday

Promoting open access through accessible open textbooks– Koneru Bhaskara Rao & Hemalata Human Development Foundation <https://elearning.hdfoundation.in> and Open Access India <http://openaccessindia.org/> are jointly organising a live event. The interactive live event will enable the participants to: gain knowledge about Open Access and creating accessible open textbooks on Pressbooks <https://pressbooks.org/>. Please submit the form to express your participation interest. More info.
Time: 6.30am EDT / 11.30am BST / 12.30pm CEST

BoOkmArks: Open Conversations about Open Access Books – An interview with Peter Suber & Milica Ševkušić about the Open Access Tracking Project (OATP). More info.
Time: 10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST

Relecture et analyse du contenu d’un plan de gestion des données – Visioconférence
Atelier DMP 2 (Attention, c’est complet !) : Relecture et analyse du contenu d’un plan de gestion des données Claire Sowinski (responsable, service Formation-DoRANum, Inist-CNRS), Yvette Lafosse (chargée d’ingénierie pédagogique, Inist-CNRS), Coralie Wysoczynski (service Formation, Inist-CNRS), Pierrette Paillassard (service Formation, Inist-CNRS) et Justine Ancelin (co-responsable, Urfist de Paris). More info.
Time: 10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST

Perspectives on Openness: Honouring Indigenous Ways of Knowing – Hosted by York University Libraries, this Open Access Week panel discussion event offers an opportunity to encourage broader participation in conversations and actions around emerging scholarly communication issues and will center Indigenous approaches to open scholarship and research. More info.
Time: 4pm EDT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST

Wednesday

Open Access Books Toolkit, helping authors understand what CC licences mean for their open access books. This presentation will describe the content and layout of the toolkit, focusing on copyright and licensing, ending with Q&A. Furthermore, it seeks to involve the CC community by spreading the word about this toolkit and providing feedback for further development. More info.
Time: 9:30am EDT / 2:30pm BST / 3:30pm CEST

Equity and inclusion: community-owned infrastructures for open science. A joint EIFL/COAR/OpenAIRE panel session – Webinar jointly organised by COAR, EIFL and OpenAIRE. This panel will discuss why community/good governance is important and how that relates to equity and inclusion. Provide some concrete models of good governance that other infrastructures can adopt in their own context. More info.
Time: 10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST

Open Book Publishers in conversation with the Open Access Books Network – Laura Rodriguez of OBP will chat to Lucy Barnes, Agata Morka and Tom Mosterd to find out more about the Open Access Books Network. All welcome! More info.
Time: 10.30am EDT / 3.30pm BST / 4.30pm CEST

Copyright, Creative Commons, and Open Licenses – This workshop will provide an introduction to copyright, Creative Commons (CC), and open licenses. Participants will be introduced to copyright basics, including the concept of public domain and exceptions and limitations to copyright. They will learn about Creative Commons and open licensing, as well as using and applying different Creative Commons licenses. More info.
Time: 5pm EDT /10pm BST / 11pm CEST

Thursday

Open Cafe: A free-flow conversation about OA books. To celebrate Open Access week, join the Open Access Books Network (OABN) for a 40 minute free-flow conversation about Open Access books. Bring your own coffee. More info.
Time: 10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST

Building equity in education with open education resources – This will be a conversation between OER Librarians about their work and the purpose of OER. Attendees will receive a background on what OER is and how it removes barriers of access to educational materials for students. The librarians will discuss their experiences working with faculty at different universities and why OER is important. More info.
Time: 11am EDT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST

Finding, Using, and Adapting Open Resources For Your Courses – With the proliferation of open education resources on the web, the practice of finding, evaluating, using, and remixing videos, simulations, test banks, presentations, and other materials is a skill that can help support instructors and students in their teaching and learning. This session will focus on the pragmatic elements of reuse and the basics of working with open education resources. Participants are invited to bring their questions, problems and favourite resources. More info.
Time: 2pm EDT / 7pm BST / 8pm CEST

Finally, to celebrate open access week, the Open Access Books Network is organising a mini-series of blog interviews about new and interesting initiatives within the open access book ecosystem:

Monday: OpenBPC – transparency around open access book transactional data: An interview with Max Mosterd (Knowledge Unlatched).

Wednesday: The Dutch Research Council (NWO) and its dedicated funding scheme for Open Access Books an interview with Hans de Jonge.

Friday: Community-led Open Publication Infrastructures for Monographs (COPIM), an interview with Dan Rudmann.

CC BY 4.0 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.